Soup for Rainy Weather

It’s been a wet and cold day today. I don’t think I remember seeing the sun much today. The skies are cloudy, it’s raining cats and dogs, and cold. At least cold for this tropical girl’s standards.

And on days like this I can’t help but crave for something warm and well soupy. Usually it’s Clam Chowder or Chili Soup from Soup Kitchen or some Pho at Pho Hua, but I’m not exactly raking in the dough plus those two places I mentioned don’t deliver (and there was no way in HELL were you going to convince me to trudge the rain just for soup).

So I rooted around the kitchen for something to make and found some freezer staples to go make soup with. Some opened bag of Mushroom balls, frozen mixed veggies, rice noodles and other stuff. I put them all together and came up with some warm delectable soup in just a few minutes.

Recipe for this soup is fairly simple that you can alter whatever way you like it to suit your taste. This one was a bit more Japanese inspired since I had these on hand and I wanted to make use of them as much as possible.

Mushroom Ball & Sotanghon Soup:

  • Mushroom balls
  • Mixed veggies
  • Sotanghon
  • 1 or 1/2 Knorr Chicken Cube (or you can just use Chicken Stock)
  • 1 tsp of Dashi
  • 1 Tbsp of Soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Mirin
  • 1 Tbsp Sake

Now just simply get water to boil in a pot, dump the knorr cubes and let it dissolve in the water. Then add the Dashi, Soy Sauce, Mirin and Sake and mix into the broth. Add the Mushroom Balls, Sotanghon, and Mixed Veggies. Cover the pot then let it simmer for maybe 10 minutes or until the balls are done. Just a warning: since I’ve used both Knorr cube and dashi, it’s important that you don’t add any more salt!

If you find the broth a little salty, just add more water. I would have added some spring onions or leeks but we were out. ;_;

For the curious, I got my Dashi from Sakura Grocery, located in Glorietta. They are thankfully packed in manageable servings in individual packets because the Dashinomoto usually comes in a huge box that unless you run a Japanese restaurant or cook Japanese food everyday, I highly doubt you’d finish. Another alternative is this Japanese grocery in Waltermart Makati, it’s in the second floor by the supermarket area near the escalator. Their dashi and other Japanese ingredients are a lot less expensive than Sakura (and the grocery surprisingly, their ebiko was a lot less cheaper than Cold Storage), so give it a twirl if you guys are ever there.

Leave a Reply

