Hand-pulled noodles. Yay!

If there’s anything I’ve always found frustrating when it came to looking for good Chinese food places, and I’m not talking about those Chinese restaurants here in Makati who keep on adapting “pinoy-nizing” their food. When I go to a Chinese (Japanese, Indian, Thai, whatever) restaurant to sample Chinese fare, and not something that has been altered and bastardized to taste -nothing- like what it is supposed to taste like.

Rant aside, it’s surprisingly hard for me to find good authentic Chinese restaurants that isn’t part of a hotel’s list of restaurants or in Binondo (China town) so it was some surprise when my beloved Pointyman2000 and I were going around SM Mega Mall and we spotted this place right beside Tong Yang (the hot pot place we were supposed to go).

Meylin Pot and Noodle House gave us pause. For one it was rainy and wet and we were gunning for some soup (hence Tong Yang) but the temptation of trying some place new well…it appealed to us, that and the last time I’ve had hand-pulled noodles was in Singapore in one of those Chinese noodle houses in China Town five years ago.

So we gave it a go and we weren’t disappointed. For starters we had some radish cake, which was for once not deep fried to hash brown crisp. The center was still soft and I can taste the radish in the cake. So that was promising.

As you can tell we got some house tea and some soy milk. I just love soy milk, although I’ll admit Le Ching has better soy milk, lighter and less cream, not to mention less expensive.

Second to arrive were the steamed shrimp dumplings, we had thought it would the usual hakao, with it’s paper thin delicate wrapping and was instead greeted with the same hand made dumpling wrapper used instead. No complaints on my end though, it still tasted very good, if not better than the hakaw that I usually order. Plus it was neater to eat as well, the wrapping doesn’t tear easily.

My beloved then also ordered this cute little dimsum darlings. They’re called siaolung pao (Xialongbao), are also known as soup dumpling. From what my beloved says, the character translates to ‘little dragon’  but apparently Xiaolong also translates to “small steaming basket”.

They resemble miniaturized siopao or meat buns, but once you bite into it the resemblance ends there. For one, it’s not as bread-ish as siopao are usually.

Then come the noodles. Beloved and I both ordered the dinner sized bowls. Big mistake on my part. For one thing, I’ve have way too many dimsum in case you haven’t noticed, that and the dinner sized bowls are bowls the size of my head!

Beloved ordered the Ansio beef noodles as shown here.

If there’s one thing I would describe how their noodle soups taste like is that it’s “smooth”.

There is surprisingly very little after-taste even in my own spicy version of beloved’s beef noodle soup. The noodles being hand-pulled and made on that same day don’t have that chemically after taste that I usually get from other restaurants–it’s actually one of my pet peeves, I loathe the taste of chemically bleh noodles.

Of course the noodle soups taste wonderfully, although I should have gotten the ‘snack’ version of the noodle soup since I didn’t get to finish this one–it was way, way too much for my poor tummy to take.

Other than that I’d say our trip to Meylin was a success and will most definately visit the restaurant again in the near future.

Leave a Reply

