Of New Years and Soap

A Happy New Year to all you loverly freaks out there~!

I hope your New Year was a good one, mine was. Meaning I’m not outside being set ablaze by fireworks or inhaling the godawful smoke and triggering my asthma. Plus being thirty-two stories up means I get to watch all the fireworks from the safety of my apartment window.

Although really I spent most of the evening in-front of the PC than partying and the day was spent mostly trying to make sense of this baked pasta recipe I inherited from my mom’s previous nurse many years ago. It was not exact, neither was it complete nor was it organized. So getting it right is a hit and miss type of thing.

Regardless I pushed on. It was New Year’s Eve after all, and I guess it wouldn’t hurt to have something nice made for dinner right? So I decided to unearth this slightly incomprehensible recipe and decided to give it a go. Instead of Lasagna noodles, I opted to use the Rigatoni that has been lying around or cupboard for a long time. I figured why waste it right? Instead of lasgana, I’ll be having a weird baked mac.

Well given I’ve tried this recipe a handful of times, I still have yet to master it, unlike my mom’s famous macaroni salad of doom. So when it came out, it didn’t came out as…appetizing as I like it. It was also my mistake that I’ve used far too much black olives into the mix and added the laurel leaves too late. The cheese sauce was too thin as well, almost watery. So it was no surprise that it burned easily in the turbo broiler.

Thankfully it didn’t detract too much of the taste, but it wasn’t as tasty as I’d like it. Note to self: get an actual recipe and see if I can merge the two or something. :/

My next project involved using the essential oils I bought from SM Megamall.There was a lot of stuff I wanted to do but it’s hard to find ingredients. Who knew eco-friendly stuff are so ridiculously hard to get or way too expensive!

Using the recipe for I got from Reader’s Digest, December 2009 Issue, I gathered the ingredients for home made fabric softener.

Fabric Softener

  • 1 cup (250 ml) white distilled vinegar (in this case I used American Garden)
  • 1 cup (250 g) bicarbonate soda (baking soda)
  • 2 cups (500 ml) water
  • 10 drops rose geranium, lavender or lemon essential oi or eucalyptus oil (or whatever you want it to smell like)

Combine ingredients slowly and carefully over the sink, because the mixture will fizz. Pour into a plastic bottle and replace the lid.

Add 1/4 cup (60 ml) to the final rinse or place it in the fabric softener dispenser of your washing machine.

There you have it.

I still need to try this out but we figured we’d do the laundry when the smog from the fireworks have settled a bit. No use doing the laundry if they’ll get dirty again while hanging out to dry.

That’s it for now my loverly freaks. I’ll probably blog my New Year’s Resolution next time. >_> Happy New Year to you guys and here’s to hoping for a better year!

Leave a Reply

