I’m Back…I hope.

It’s been a year and a month since I had been here. I seem to have gotten the habit of updating yearly, which is a shame. So much has happened lately that I felt a smidgen guilty for not updating.

Well sort of.

The combination of my diet from hell and the stress of the wedding planning would have left me with posts that would probably consist of nothing but HATE. Seriously. And it wasn’t that the wedding preparation was terrible. If anything, everything went smoothly except for one thing…well several but that’s probably because it was one person/designer handling it.

The Dress. And the Groom’s suit. And the entourage’s dresses and suits.

The man gave me no end of grief, wasted my money for which I was forced to purchase a RTW wedding dress from Rosa Clara (I love you, you are my savior! They got my dress ready two weeks before the wedding!) and embarrassed me to the point I either had to buy a replacement or let them wear whatever dress they chose for the wedding.

I hate him sooo damn much. He was the biggest thorn on my side, and the dresses he made were all TERRIBLE. A blind, rabid monkey with a penchant for Lady Gaga’s style of fashion would have done a better job than he ever did. He didn’t even have the decency to deliver the dresses we already paid for in time. In fact he delivered the last of them 4 hrs before the wedding started. <insert angry sounds here>

I hope you rot in hell you fucking bastard. I really do.

(You see, it’s been nearly 7 months ago this happened and I’m *still* bitter about it. Aren’t you glad I didn’t write anything during that time?)

Moving on…the day came and went, and it was lovely…or so I was told. I don’t really remember much of it, considering I was the bride and all I wanted was to get it over with, get out of my dress and make-up and get back to bed. It was a morning wedding and I had only four hours of sleep (no thanks to the designer, I still hate you. Die in a fire.) before I had to wake up and get ready.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned on my wedding and probably impart on every would-be bride is this: (1) Research your designer, followed by: don’t shrug off RTW dresses. Sometimes they’re even better than the designer and don’t carry the same atrocious price tag (2) Don’t scrimp on your food. Scrimp everything else but the food. No one, and I mean no one will ever remember your make-up, your dress (unless you spam tag them in your wedding photos online and not shut up about it), the music. But the food? Oh yeah…people will remember THAT.

Think about it. If you had to remember the weddings you’ve been to, the food is what people will remember the most. As the bride, enjoy the food tasting before the wedding. By the time the wedding rolls around, even when things go perfectly well you’re either stressed or too excited to be able to taste anything.

It has been 7 months and counting after my wedding and I’m happy. Well *happier* than I was before of course. Some of my single friends are asking me if it feels different now that I’m married. I have no idea what to answer, I pretty much shrug and say that nothing really feels different except I don’t have to clean the cat’s litter box anymore.  🙂

Life’s good.

Leave a Reply

